May 4th 2020

Viterbi celebrated it's annual signature event, the 2020 Master’s Awards Ceremony, to recognize outstanding students in each engineering department for their research, service, and academic excellence.

Viterbi MS Awards Virtual Ceremony

On May 4, 2020, USC Viterbi recognized master's students who have demonstrated excellence in their respective fields and towards the USC community. Due to unprecedented circumstances, Viterbi organized its first ever virtual MS Awards ceremony, conducted via Zoom.

USC Viterbi Dean Yannis C. Yortsos kicked off the "historic and unprecedented' event and addressed more than 120 attendees, including awardees, their families and friends, and USC Viterbi faculty members.

USC Viterbi congratulates award recipients and thanks them for their continued excellence in their field and dedication to the USC community. Click here to read the full article posted on May 8th, 2020 by Alex Baker on USC Viterbi News.

Watch the complete recording of the 2020 Master's Award ceremony here.

List of recipients by department

Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering

Academic Excellence Award
Varun Palahalli

Department of Astronautical Engineering

Rocket Scientist of the Year Award
Matthew Tinkey
Ryan Horton
Ulubilge Ulusoy

Department of Biomedical Engineering

Academic Excellence Award
Eleanor Mina Sung

Service Award
Niloufar Rajabshirazi

Department of Computer Science

Best Research Award
Samar Haider
Edward Hu
Seung Hee Yoon
Nicole Fronda

Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Excellence in Service and Achievement Award
Yihong Feng

Outstanding Student Award
Udit Dangarwala
Spandan Kachhadiya

Daniel J. Epstein Department of Industrial & Systems Engineering

Master’s Student of the Year Award
Sara Stevens
Xueer (Snow) Zhuang

Mork Family Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science

Master’s Student Achievement Award
Kenmond Pang
​Aoyan Liang
Musab Al Ameer
Tynan Bradley

Sonny Astani Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering

Research Award
Qin Dong

Service Award
Aishwarya Sambasivan Iyer
Jiaqi Wang
Zou Yunjia

Viterbi Admission & Student Engagement

Outstanding Mentor Award
Jatin Choudhary
Naman Munot

Viterbi Graduate Student Association

Leadership Award
Abhilash Pandurangan