2019 Recipient

L to R: Dean Yannis Yortsos, Shanyuan Niu and William F. Ballhaus.

A member of the USC Viterbi Board of Councilors, Dr. William F. Ballhaus, Jr. is a graduate of the University of California at Berkeley where he earned a PhD in engineering and bachelor's and master's degrees in mechanical engineering. He had a renowned career in industry, including service as president and chief executive officer of The Aerospace Corporation, corporate officer and vice president of engineering and technology at Lockheed Martin, and president of two Martin Marietta businesses. He spent the first half of his career at NASA Ames and served as the director of that center. He is a member of the NAE and serves on multiple boards including the NASA Advisory Council.

The William F. Ballhaus, Jr. Prize for Excellence in Graduate Engineering Research is bestowed to the best doctoral dissertation, was established in 2015, and will be awarded each year in perpetuity in the future.

The nominees of the 2019 Best Dissertation Award will be reviewed by a faculty committee and narrowed down to four finalists. The finalists will  present their research at the Best Dissertation Symposium on April 18, 2019, from whom the final winner will be selected.

The 2019 winner of  The William F. Ballhaus Jr. Prize for Excellence in Graduate Engineering Research, Shanyuan Niu for his research, and dissertation Perovskite Chalcogenides: Emerging Semiconductors
for Visible to Infrared Optoelectronics.

Congratulation, Shanyuan!

Previous Recipients

2018 recipient Trevor Krasowsky and William F. Ballhaus

2017 winner Fei Fang with Dean Yannis Yortson (L) and William F. Ballhaus (R)

Matthew Gilpin smiles with Dean Yortsos and William F. Ballhaus after winning in 2016 


Seyedhamed M Barghi smiles after winning the inaugural William F. Ballhaus Prize for Excellence in Graduate Engineering in 2015